Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dessert / Vanilla Poached Plums Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Poached Plums

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2003

      So simple, sooooo good; sweet, buttery, tangy. Can't wait to try it with peaches. What a wonderful thing is vanilla sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      So easy to make and so delicious! Served hot over ice cream and stirred the leftovers into oatmeal the next morning. Loved it both ways. The plums were still tart, but sweet enough to be pleasant. Great way to use up the plums from the garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      WOW! This was great uncooked as a breakfast! I substituted honey for sugar because sugar is poison, I left out the margarine because margarine is poison, I used the juice of 1/4 of a lemon for 5 plums. The combination of plums and vanilla is a great combination. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I've been playing with these for the last few days and I really enjoyed them. They make a great topping for pancakes and go great in yogurt and outmeal. These would make a great canning recipe once I work out the ammounts! UPDATE - Useing the 2 cups of plums (chopped) and doubling the syrup on the stove made 1 - 8oz jar lol (minus the margarine) And everyone I've had sample this really likes it. Guess I got 2 recipes out of this! Thanks Derf!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

    • on February 09, 2007

      Plums added a sweettart balance to the smooth creaminess of vanilla Tofutti ice cream at our dinner party. YUM! Although the dessert still didn't pass muster with my strictly anti-carb friend (this was my best effort short of fresh fruit plates), she was tempted into a few guilty tastes. We were all very impressed with the unique idea and luxury of flavors and preparation. Great dessert for dinner guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      These plums are wonderful over vanilla ice cream. I used real butter instead of the margarine, and found the flavor of the dish to have just the right sweet/tart flavor. I plan on trying the leftovers on some oatmeal for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      This is so good I've had to make it twice in 2 days! In place of the vanilla bean (forgive me, derf)and the 1/4 cup sugar, I used Oetker Vanilla Sugar(a single packet)for the amount of plums suggested. Simple and wonderful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Poached Plums

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.6
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    18%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 20.7 g
    82%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes