Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dessert / Vanilla Custard Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Custard Sauce

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2011

      I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract at the end, instead of using the bean. This was fantastic--spooned over bowls of ordinary grocery store berries (I used blueberries, raspberries and blackberries, along with a few strawberries), it made a sensationally yummy dessert. I will definitely make this a regular dessert item for company and family dinners. I can imagine this over apple pie, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Decadently delicious vanilla custard! Why did I ever buy the commercial stuff?? This is sooo much better and easy to make to boot! Also makes a lot - I served this with strawberry-rhubarb coffee cake for guests and have plenty of leftovers that I can keep, er, sampling by the spoonful... Thank you very much for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I reviewed this recipe on 8/15/10 for PRMR but it seems to have disappeared. I discovered the discrepancy because I was searching through my reviews searching for the recipe to make it again because it is soooooo good. So, here is my review: I made as directed but used vanilla bean paste in place of the vanilla bean (since I made this 5 months ago I can't remember for certain but I believe I used 1 teaspoon). We enjoyed the custard sauce over fresh raspberries....Yum! This would also be an excellent base for vanilla ice cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Very good. Eaten over fruit for breakfast. I used Carnation evaporated milk to be corn free, an alcohol free vanilla from the health food shop (4 pretty small cap full's), plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for Please Review My Recipe ~ ~ ~ from March 10 -

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Great sauce, I used it for some fresh strawberries as a dipping sauce, and a topping for some pound cake, that I bought at the store. I did use the vanilla extract. I can think of more great uses for this too. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I loved this great tasting sauce. I used a vanilla bean for the first time and I am so glad I did. The flavor of the vanilla was super intence. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Delicious and SO quick to make! :) I made this last night and we enjoyed it tonight with mixed berries. The special occasion? It was Friday night! This is a recipe that I'll certainly be making for serving to guests. GREAT for that purpose: quick and easy, can be made well ahead of the time it's needed and it is SO delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this super recipe, Sweet Baboo. I made it exactly to the recipe and wouldn't want to change a thing. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      THIS IS A REALLY GREAT TASTING SAUCE! So easy to make, too, & I did use the vanilla extract rather than the bean! We used it not only as a sauce on some pound cake, but also as a fruit dip ~ OUTSTANDING! And, next time I make some bread pudding, we'll be including this on the side! Thanks for a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Custard Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.2
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    81%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 173.7 mg
    57%
    Sodium 26.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes