8 Reviews

I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract at the end, instead of using the bean. This was fantastic--spooned over bowls of ordinary grocery store berries (I used blueberries, raspberries and blackberries, along with a few strawberries), it made a sensationally yummy dessert. I will definitely make this a regular dessert item for company and family dinners. I can imagine this over apple pie, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamC August 09, 2011

Decadently delicious vanilla custard! Why did I ever buy the commercial stuff?? This is sooo much better and easy to make to boot! Also makes a lot - I served this with strawberry-rhubarb coffee cake for guests and have plenty of leftovers that I can keep, er, sampling by the spoonful... Thank you very much for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee May 29, 2011

I reviewed this recipe on 8/15/10 for PRMR but it seems to have disappeared. I discovered the discrepancy because I was searching through my reviews searching for the recipe to make it again because it is soooooo good. So, here is my review: I made as directed but used vanilla bean paste in place of the vanilla bean (since I made this 5 months ago I can't remember for certain but I believe I used 1 teaspoon). We enjoyed the custard sauce over fresh raspberries....Yum! This would also be an excellent base for vanilla ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms January 12, 2011

Very good. Eaten over fruit for breakfast. I used Carnation evaporated milk to be corn free, an alcohol free vanilla from the health food shop (4 pretty small cap full's), plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for Please Review My Recipe ~ ~ ~ from March 10 -

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 11, 2012

Great sauce, I used it for some fresh strawberries as a dipping sauce, and a topping for some pound cake, that I bought at the store. I did use the vanilla extract. I can think of more great uses for this too. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker May 28, 2010

I loved this great tasting sauce. I used a vanilla bean for the first time and I am so glad I did. The flavor of the vanilla was super intence. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starluvsky July 26, 2009

Delicious and SO quick to make! :) I made this last night and we enjoyed it tonight with mixed berries. The special occasion? It was Friday night! This is a recipe that I'll certainly be making for serving to guests. GREAT for that purpose: quick and easy, can be made well ahead of the time it's needed and it is SO delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this super recipe, Sweet Baboo. I made it exactly to the recipe and wouldn't want to change a thing. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder March 13, 2009

THIS IS A REALLY GREAT TASTING SAUCE! So easy to make, too, & I did use the vanilla extract rather than the bean! We used it not only as a sauce on some pound cake, but also as a fruit dip ~ OUTSTANDING! And, next time I make some bread pudding, we'll be including this on the side! Thanks for a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 17, 2009
Vanilla Custard Sauce