Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dessert / The Most Awesome Apple Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Most Awesome Apple Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2006

      Made these last night and they turned out great. I have made several different recipes for apple dumplings and most of them were very good, but as my dh says I am a recipe junkie so I'm always trying something new. Well, this recipe will probably be the last apple dumpling one I use. They were wonderful and dh even said to stick with this one. I just peeled and cored the apples and left whole and that worked out well. Yes there was a lot of dough so I might cut back on it some next time. Thanks for a wonderful dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      I was looking for something to make, besides pie, with all the apples we have this year, and found this recipe. It was really great but I added a lot more apples since I had a bunch of them already peeled. I just put all the extra apples in the sauce and baked them all together. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      I just finished eating this now. MMMM yumm! Fairly simple and tastes so good! I added a little sauce with the apples, and also sprinkled some white sugar on top of the dumplings before chucking them in the oven. Other than that this recipe is perfect. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      The name says it all - most awesome! I only wish they tasted as good the next day, but warmed up they are still very much worth eating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Yes, these were awesome with vanilla ice cream! Recipe is a little sketchy however. I made this as I interpreted it and it turned out great. For instance use ONE egg, delete the extra T of vinegar. I halved the sauce and it turned out perfect with the top not engulfed in suace. Would maybe cook these a bit longer than 30 minutes suggested if you aren't into a doughy crust. I happen to love dough so I thought it was great! I was able to make 5 dumplings with this recipe using several slices of apples in each dumpling. I did have to add a bit (1/8 cup?) extra flour to make this rollable with a rolling pin. Even with all my changes I will def hold onto this with changes noted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      The title is right these apple dumplings are awesome. You definitely need to use a larger baking pan. I used two 8" pans and they were pretty full. These are huge. The next time I make these I will make them smaller. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      Pick Your Chef 2004: This had to be one of the BEST apple desserts I've made in a long time! I used 2 Empire apples and 1 Ginger Gold apple. I wasn't sure how thick to slice them, so I went with a little less that 1/4 inch. I had many more than 3-4 slices in each dumpling...I just divided them up evenly. Next time, I think I'll half the sauce, as there was just so much left over. Served with ice cream and warm vanilla pudding as toppings, and everyone thought it was awesome. Thanks for sharing this fabulous dessert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      What an easy and unique dessert! I made 5 large dumplings according to this recipe and we ended up eating the leftovers as breakfast. SO GOOD! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Happy I found this recipe! This recipe reminds me of the dumplings my Grandma used to make for us kids. The other recipes I found used canned crescent dough, Mountain Dew, and look like a casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      Hahaha, what did I do wrong? This dough was horrible to work with -- it was very sticky and there was no way I could roll it out. I pretty much tried to shape the sticky dough around the apple slices -- what a mess! I managed to wrangle these into a pan and cover it with the very generous amount of sauce. I was laughing hysterically when I put this in the oven and told my husband this is one of my worst attempts at apple dumplings ever. However, when they came out of the oven they were delicious! My husband said they were ugly but awesome. LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Just like my Grannies . Has anyone tried freezing some? The next batch I will try and let you all know how the came out.<br/><br/>MommaBearPat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      WOW!…These are great! I was hungry for my grandmother’s lost apple dumpling recipe when I found this one. You need to follow ‘ShabbySigns’ suggestions and use one egg instead of the extra T of vinegar and I ended up adding an extra 3/4 C of flour just to make the dough workable. I also let the sauce cool slightly and poured approx 1/8 C of sauce on the apples before wrapping them up. I cut a combination of Granny Smith, Empire, and Fugi apples into ½� slices and then cut the slices into thirds for bite sized pieces. The recipe made 4 LARGE apple dumplings and we halved each one for a total of eight normal servings. A 30 minuet cook time gave me a very doughy crust. You cannot go wrong with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Most Awesome Apple Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 610.8
     
    Calories from Fat 267
    43%
    Total Fat 29.7 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 18.4 g
    92%
    Cholesterol 99.5 mg
    33%
    Sodium 639.6 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.4 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 58.2 g
    232%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites