13 Reviews

Oh Yum!! Just when I was wondering what to do with the remaining rhubarb! This is so good! I just went to a 600 watt microwave and I had to cook them a little longer. But the results were great! This is a winner! Thanks!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz June 29, 2002

These were great!!! Definitely something we'll fix whenever we have rhubarb!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHornsby June 17, 2002

So delicious and so easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicarla May 27, 2012

These are great! Normally, I wouldn't review something if I didn't follow the recipe exactly (I estimated the time and cooked the dumplings on the stovetop) but these are just too good not to review. Who doesn't love rhubarb? Living in ND, it's one of the few "fruits" we can actually grow, so I like to take advantage and freeze as much as possible. The dumplings were super tender. I'll make these often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NDjojo January 31, 2011

The review from Kathy!! says she cooked it stovetop -- that method makes it just like one I used to do with my girl scouts -- a real winner -- only the dumplings were gingerbread mix and the fruit was applesauce! I adore rhubarb, so this one is a real winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gnat90254 June 27, 2008

I'm giving this 5 stars even though I hardly followed the recipe at all. I used white sugar, no cinnamon, added some strawberries, and cooked it in my Le Creuset cast iron on the stove just like I cook dumpling in soup. But this was a great IDEA and a great starting place for some creativity. I needed a new way to use rhubarb and this was super. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy!! June 03, 2008

I took this to my inlaws for a holiday lunch. They all thought it was wonderful. I loved that it was all micowave. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Bennifer December 22, 2007

My youngest daughter told me about this recipe. She said her hubby and inlaws raved about it, so I had to give it a try. I like the fact that I could prepare it so quickly in my microwave, instead of in the oven. The recipe states to cook the sauce for 5 minutes on high, stir, and then cook for 3 minutes more. I cooked mine for a total of 10 minutes; stirring after the first 5 minutes. When making the dumplings, I added a 1/2 cup of milk, w/the 1/3 cup, I found the dumplings were too dry. I did not sprinkle on the entire amount of the cinnamon and sugar. I only used (about) 3/4's of it. I too think the sauce would be great served on pound cake, along w/some whipped cream. BTW, I wanted y'all to know, I cooked this in an 800 watt microwave oven. Thank you LDJ for the recipe, it was quite delish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess July 26, 2007

Awesome! We loved it. The sauce is excellent. I made the sauce and served it over some pound cake I had left over and topped it with ice cream. I will definitely try it as is next time. It was so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Superchick June 20, 2007

It is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squeaky Worm June 03, 2007
Rhubarb Dumplings