Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dessert / Rhubarb Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rhubarb Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2002

      Oh Yum!! Just when I was wondering what to do with the remaining rhubarb! This is so good! I just went to a 600 watt microwave and I had to cook them a little longer. But the results were great! This is a winner! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      These were great!!! Definitely something we'll fix whenever we have rhubarb!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      So delicious and so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      These are great! Normally, I wouldn't review something if I didn't follow the recipe exactly (I estimated the time and cooked the dumplings on the stovetop) but these are just too good not to review. Who doesn't love rhubarb? Living in ND, it's one of the few "fruits" we can actually grow, so I like to take advantage and freeze as much as possible. The dumplings were super tender. I'll make these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      The review from Kathy!! says she cooked it stovetop -- that method makes it just like one I used to do with my girl scouts -- a real winner -- only the dumplings were gingerbread mix and the fruit was applesauce! I adore rhubarb, so this one is a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I'm giving this 5 stars even though I hardly followed the recipe at all. I used white sugar, no cinnamon, added some strawberries, and cooked it in my Le Creuset cast iron on the stove just like I cook dumpling in soup. But this was a great IDEA and a great starting place for some creativity. I needed a new way to use rhubarb and this was super. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      I took this to my inlaws for a holiday lunch. They all thought it was wonderful. I loved that it was all micowave. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      My youngest daughter told me about this recipe. She said her hubby and inlaws raved about it, so I had to give it a try. I like the fact that I could prepare it so quickly in my microwave, instead of in the oven. The recipe states to cook the sauce for 5 minutes on high, stir, and then cook for 3 minutes more. I cooked mine for a total of 10 minutes; stirring after the first 5 minutes. When making the dumplings, I added a 1/2 cup of milk, w/the 1/3 cup, I found the dumplings were too dry. I did not sprinkle on the entire amount of the cinnamon and sugar. I only used (about) 3/4's of it. I too think the sauce would be great served on pound cake, along w/some whipped cream. BTW, I wanted y'all to know, I cooked this in an 800 watt microwave oven. Thank you LDJ for the recipe, it was quite delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Awesome! We loved it. The sauce is excellent. I made the sauce and served it over some pound cake I had left over and topped it with ice cream. I will definitely try it as is next time. It was so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      It is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      So fun! I slow-cooked mine on the stove while we ate dinner, then served it with vanilla icecream. My DH & I really enjoyed it! It wasn't too sweet, it was just right. And so easy to make!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      These were quite good. I did do some alterations though. I didn't add the butter in with the rhubarb, and used 1/2 of the sugar for the rhubarb - we found it perfect this way. I think my microwave is a bit too powerful to cook on High (I cooked for a lot less time than the recipe stated), so in retrospect I should have cooked on meduim high. None the less ,these made for a nice, easy dessert. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      Not too sweet, not too tart - just another wonderful way to enjoy a favourite fruit! I thawed a medium zip-lock freezer bag of rhubarb & topped up the resulting liquid with water to make 1 cup. We enjoyed this warm with frozen yogurt. Thanx LDJ & granma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rhubarb Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.1
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    30%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 28.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 127.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 34.5 g
    138%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites