11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm sorry I thought I rated this a 5 a long time ago!! This is so good, I make it all the time, because it's SSSOOOO GOOD!! I make it as gifts all the time, and I'm ALWAYS asked for the recipe. I've made it into mini loaves for bake sales, and they are big money makers!! My friends family has never tried it, because she always eats it all before they are back from work and school!! lol DH likes it because it's not too sweet for him but it's still sweet enough for me! 100% a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary22 #2 December 03, 2012

Delicious! It was not overpoweringly sweet, the slightest hint of salty - just amazing. I will be making this again!!!! Unfortunately, I didn't have sour cream so I used cottage cheese, so technically I am not rating the recipe as written. *I am tired of peeling apples this fall, so I left the skins on and put them in the microwave on low for 4 minutes to soften the skin before baking. Skins were indistinguishable in the finally product - and a heck of a lot easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristin B. October 16, 2009

All the qualities I like in a recipe--easy, attractive and tasty. The bread is moist, not too sweet and the topping enhances each bite. Thanks Julesong!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers October 06, 2007

I loved this bread! It had a nice texture and was very moist. I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon and left the nutmeg in as well. I also left the peels on the apples, which I usually do in baking. It adds a little extra color. I made 6 loaves of this bread and gave them as gifts (except for the one that I ate). Thanks for the great recipe. I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Schellies December 28, 2006

Excellent! This bread has great texture and flavor and looks incredible. The caramel topping really makes it. I used light sour cream, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon instead of the nutmeg and a little extra apples and it turned out perfect. My whole family loved it so I'm sure I will make it again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas November 05, 2006

FABULOUS!I didn't bake it with pecans, but rather sprinkled some on top and then drizzled w/the caramelized topping. Amazing. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P September 17, 2006

Made these this week-end and they came out pretty good, but for my taste I think they need a little more spice. When I make again, I think I'll add some cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BOCCE August 29, 2005

Over the Christmas season, I made like 5 batches of this and gave it out as gifts. Fabulous!! I am hooked! Flavor, texture, and presentation rock! I did have a little trouble a couple times with the caramel sauce, but next time I will try the microwave suggestion:) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doolittle February 03, 2005

This is a very moist loaf. Very nice - I have made it into muffins as well. Very nice, Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeeAnn November 23, 2004

I made this for a pot luck at work, and it was a real hit. I discovered a speedy way to make the carmel. I put the brown sugar and butter in a 2 cup glass measuring container, and put it in the microwave for 30 seconds on high, stirred, and repeated 3 more times for a total of 2 minutes. It was perfect and poured on the bread beautifully. This is definitely a keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan October 26, 2004
Praline Apple Bread