Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dessert / Pineapple Coconut Empanadas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pineapple Coconut Empanadas

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2011

      Very good! I made have the recipe and only ended up with 14T of filling, so that's how many empanadas I made. I didn't use the sour cream in the dough and I brushed the tops with soymilk and dusted with sugar. This was easily made and really really good to eat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Oh wow!!!! These empanadas are just great! They are sooo tasty! The pineapple and coconut go great together and the dough is so flaky and just perfect! YUM!
      I thought these would be involve and hard to make, but no, they were so easy and quick. :)
      I made half the recipe and ended up with 12 small (3 inch in diameter) empanadas that were gobbled up in no time.
      I reduced the sugar quite a bit and the filling was still super sweet and yummy. I had only desiccated coconut on hand, so used that and also left out the glaze. Other than that I stuck to your recipe and loved it.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing such a great recipe with us, Susie!
      Made and reviewed for your being VIP during Veggie Swap #39 October 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      We loved the combination of pineapple and coconut! One thing is for sure, they didn't last very long at my house and I will be making these again. Made for Count Dracula and his Hot Bites, ZWT 7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Very easy and sooo good! I sampled the dough and was a little worried that it was too bland but it was perfect with the filling. Will try the suggestion of dipping them in sour cream. I am making them again this weekend. Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This made it into Book #179627. We enjoyed these alot. The coconut/pineapple mixture went well with the crust. We will be making them again, thanks for sharing. As I said, We'de make em again. We dipped them in sour cream, now their even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      I made these two nights in a row they were DELICIOSO!!! Though I did make it semi-homemade by using pre-made pie crust you find in the refridgerated section of the market. You need to experiment to find the best one, I buy a store brand. I just cut each circle into fourths, filled it with a spoon of filling, being sure to leave enough of the dough on the edge to crimp closed with the tines of a fork. I brushed the tops and edges with condensed milk and put a dash of sugar on the top. I had them in the oven in 10 minutes. I also had to adjust the oven temp to 375 because the tops were burning. Quick and easy desert :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I was in the middle of making some turnovers and the dough was not coming out, I immed got onto the web and found this recipe. The dough is so flake-like and it just melts in your mouth. I had to throw the other dough away, but thank goodness for this one, it made the turnovers just perfect. thanks, I will try the complete recipe next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      These were such a nice treat! The filling was Sooo to my taste. These were enjoyed this afternoon by myself and two of my grandkids. Since they came to help "Grannyma", I needed to make this a bit easier for them. After making the filling, we made the wrapping by using white bread. I cut the crust off and the kids rolled them to a flat diamond, put filling in and folded top down. I wet the rims with water and the kids pressed the openings with a fork. We then continued with the instructions. When they came out of the oven and cooled a bit, we dusted with powdered sugar. I truly will try them properly the next time, but I felt these were so good that I still had to post this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      These were amazing... and how could they miss with those ingredients. The crust was very flaky and will melt in your mouth. I was a little concerned about rolling them out so thin.. I got exactly 24 so I guess I made them the right size. I put a little too much filling in the first bunch and ended with a couple of extra balls. I had some apricot marmalade so mixed a little coconut with it and it was wonderful also. I decided that next time I'll make several different kinds including walnut and honey. Thanks for a great recipe SusieD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pineapple Coconut Empanadas

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.9
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    37%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 1.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 69.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 18.9 g
    75%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites