498 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was absolutely delicious!! It was very easy to prepare and I had all the ingredients on hand. I have never made a peach colbler before and this one will definately be a repeat in my home!! I may cut back a wee bit on the sugar next time. As well, it only took 30 minutes to cook to a golden brown for me. Served it with French Vanilla Ice Cream - Yummy!!!

44 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert June 24, 2002

Made this for work lastnight and there is none left!!!! Very good and simple to make. I left out the nutmeg and used fresh peaches instead of canned, turned out lovely!

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Nurse July 24, 2002

What a great, easy dessert, anytime of the year. I made this in a round cakepan and served it with whipped cream on a beautiful cake stand. How impressive. I used 1/2 c sugar for the cake part and 1/4 c sugar for the peaches. It was still wonderful. Thanks to the chef.

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindi July 30, 2002

So easy and so delicious! I cut back on the sugar in the filling, using only 1/2 cup. The cinnamon and nutmeg flavours were lovely mixed with the peaches. Thanks for posting. =)

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* July 02, 2002

Excellent! The nutmeg and cinnamon spices were a wonderful combination with the peaches. This dessert is not like regular Peach Cobblers: no crumb mixture on the top. It is delicious; fluffy and light. We doubled the batch and baked in a 13x9 inch dish.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook August 12, 2002

I don't do a lot of baking, when I ran across this recipe I decided to try it and I am very happy that I did, so is the family friends that finished the pan!!! :) I would suggest doubling the recipe if you are around big eaters!! :) A big hit, thank you

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sadie Stiefvater July 02, 2002

Turned out really good. Used fresh peaches (around four cups worth). Added a squeeze of lemon, a splash of Grand Marnier and 1 tsp of vanilla to the peaches and also cut the sugar and spices by half. Also used brown sugar. Served warm with vanilla bean ice cream. Yum!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jedi master in training September 26, 2010

Really good, but OH MY you can taste the butter and the sugar! I will defiantly take the advise of someone else who posted that they doubled the batter ingredients (except for the butter and sugar). I used mostly brown sugar- which in my opinion made it taste so much better!! The taste of the brown sugar and butter combined with the spices was heaven!! I used fresh peaches (about 4 big ones) in a 9x13 pan and it was perfect. I added a bit of cinnamon to the batter (because I love cinnamon) and baked it about 35 mins, turned off the oven and left it in there another 10-15 because we were eating dinner and I wanted it nice and hot. My batter didn't rise up over my peaches like the photo- which makes me want to make it with double the batter even more. Really good, but really can't be good for my thighs :0) I want to fiddle around with this to see if I can cut back on the calories a bit.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 August 30, 2010

Certainly a good base recipe for cobbler (seems like a cross with a buckle). Instead of one can ofpeaches I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen sliced peaches, a 16 oz bag frozen strawberries (cut into quarters), and 9 oz. of fresh raspberries. Tossed that with the amount of spices called for in the original recipe, added one tablespoon of flour, and one tablespoon of lemon juice. For this amount of fruit, I used 1/2 cup sugar in the batter and 3/4 cup in the filling (brown sugar for both) and added a teaspoon of homemade vanilla extract to the batter. Came out lovely, perfect amount of sweetness and fruit to cake ratio. Did mostly thaw the frozen fruit and needed to bake for just over an hour (at high altitude as well). Served with raspberry sorbet.... just plain yummy. Definitely use more fruit, and cut the sugar down unless you like candy sweet cobblers.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JungleLove June 23, 2010

This is so good! I used what I had on hand, one can of peaches and one of pears, both diced, and no nutmeg. It still came out wonderful. I also cut down on the sugar for the filling. The crust had just as much flavor as the filling. Thank you for sharing!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melany * October 22, 2002
Peach Cobbler