12 Reviews

This is one of the most requested dishes around the holidays at my house. I have even learned that you can heat the filling and topping in the microwave instead of wasting all that time over a stove with a double-boiler. Yes, it is a little on the expensive side to make, but it tops off the best of a Thanksgiving or Christmas Holiday meal. Thanks for submitting.....others will enjoy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonica November 18, 2004

This made a pretty tasty end to dinner tonight. Made a half recipe to use up some egg yolks left from another recipe. Used some day old marked down French bread, so only real expense was the white chocolate chips. I also used whole milk instead of cream. I did kind of guess on the amount of chocolate since I don't have a scale and for the sauce, I just added a bit of milk to make it slightly runny. Would be good with some nuts sprinkled in to give it a textural difference. Also, next time, might cut bread thicker and cube it instead of whole slices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 May 20, 2014

Certainly rich and tasty, but I agree with the reviewer who judged it "too eggy". Not trusting my own less-than-wowed reaction, I took several squares of this to my nail/hair salon for the 5 women there to sample and "review". They ate it up, and loved it, but what made me decide it's hardly worth the effort and expense was my manicurist's comment: "Mmm! But honestly? It tastes a LOT like warm Jell-O pudding from a box. Or banana pudding without the bananas." My faint-praise three stars, therefore. For the cost and calories (aaaagh!) it should have been a LOT more "wow"...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante February 17, 2012

I topped this with a berry sauce - Jam I'd added water and heated to make it runny, and baked that on top for the last 5minutes, it was very popular. This was a delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shooter77 February 14, 2011

I am quite shocked this recipe doesn't have more reviews then 8! This is a wonderful recipe, but then again there aren't too many recpes that come from the south that aren't tasty! VERY GOOD RECIPE, Well worth the ingrediants!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrisjoeswife November 29, 2010

Excellent!!! Made it with croissants that I bought at Costco a few days earlier and let get a little dried out. Very decadent. I did cut the yolks down to only 4 and used 4 whole eggs to lighten it up since I was using a lighter bread. Our company asked to take some home after they tried it and it didn't even make it home - they ate it in the car on the way with their fingers!!! YUM YUM!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CABarbieQue September 18, 2009

I am not a chef, just a a dessert lover from New Orleans. In my opinion it taste a little to eggie for me. I made according to the recipe but if I make again I will probably cut back on the eggs and use a loaf pan to pake in. The sauce is excellent....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancyc.work March 20, 2009

OH MY GOODNESS!! This is nothing but yummy! We had dinner for eight and everyone wanted the recipe. I just used a plain loaf of bread and added a little bit of cinnamon (my husband's secret ingredient) I wish I could give it 10 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danissa September 20, 2008

Awesome! I was looking for a recipe to use up some Ghiradelli white chocolate I bought at my local 'big box' store. This recipe is great and delicious. It even got rave reviews from my in-laws who are born and raised New Orleans and certainly know their bread puddings. Next time I will cut the bread into cubes and allow it to soak about 20 minutes before putting in the oven. Also, we poured the sauce over top in the pan which worked well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves Bakin August 13, 2008
Palace Cafe White Chocolate Bread Pudding