9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh yeah...... This is clears the palata and will refresh you more than any other drink. I made this with unflavored sparkling water. I can imagine how this would be just the perfect summer refreshment. This is a keeper!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Bobeck January 05, 2003

Perfect. Based on the other reviews and that I didn't want to make as large a quantity, these were the proportions I used: 1/2 c. sugar 3/4 c. fresh lime juice (6 limes) 2 tsp. grated lime zest (1 lime) 1 1/2 c. water The taste was delightfully tart, very lime-y, and with just the right tang and texture of a true granita. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CobraLimes August 11, 2005

Tart is my middle name and this was right up my alley! Soooooo goooood is right!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VerucaSalt! June 25, 2010

Oh my goodness, this came out absolutely wonderful. It had a perfect granita texture, and the taste was wonderfully sweet and tart at the same time. I couldn't get enough of it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuliJ November 09, 2008

This was super easy to make, and tastes so delicious. I made this for a beverage recipe I had (where you add a scoop of the granita to a little tequila and sprite). They were to die for! This also really perks up anything sweet that calls for a lime flavoring. I really recommend this delightful and great recipe. Everyone that tried here loved it (and that includes people who did not add booze!). Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moot0009 May 13, 2007

This was really tasty! We also added Tequila for the "Adults" for an added treat! Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieCollas October 07, 2006

I am in love with this. The delicious tart lime flavor is just perfect. I made 1/3 of the recipe because of lack of limes, using all the ingredients and proportions in the recipe. I had easily dissolved castor sugar, however, so I did not cook the sugar and water together. I put all the ingredients into a doubled food service plastic bags, and froze them, kneading the mixture to break up the ice crystals. The next morning a few whacks with a rolling pin restored the slushy texture. This is tart, but I personally would not change the recipe's ratio of sugar to the other ingredients. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao July 17, 2005

This is such a cooling and refreshing granita. I thought it made the perfect ending to a light summer dinner. It is more tart than sweet but that is what makes it so good. The slushy texture is just right. Thanks, will be making this one many more times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenna Naquin July 09, 2004

This is the perfect summer treat. I thought that this was great. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Some of my guests thought that it was a little on the tart side, but everyone else thought it was perfect. You may want to add some extra sugar if you don't like really tart desserts. I'll definetely make this one again. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starrynight May 13, 2004
Lime Granita