Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dessert / Island Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Island Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2010

      I made this Island Rice Pudding as an add on side for both a wedding shower & baby shower & people raved. Only difference - I used cocconut creme instead of milk, soaked my raisins in Bacardi's light rum & drained, & added along with papaya fresh pineapple pieces. 2 very smart tricks you did - one, you used Arborio rice (perfect short grain with creamy results - best rice for rissotto also) 2nd the fresh ginger was KEY, nice move!! Enjoyed immensely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I took evelyn/athens tip & substituted coconut milk for the regular milk in this recipe, then pretty much followed the recipe on down, although I did cut it in half, & I used golden raisins! GREAT TASTING RICE PUDDING, what with the nice combo of raisins, coconut & papaya! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for my tagged partner in Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 14]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      FABULOUS~!!! A keeper for sure. After the first 15 minutes, my rice was pretty much cooked. So I just added 1 cup of light coconut milk and let it absorb while I added the rest of the ingredients. Since others had said they didn't care for the papaya, I simply did a sprinkling of papaya on top and it was PERFECT!!! I also subbed Splenda for the sugar and used only 1/4 cup. I can't wait to taste this after it sits for a couple hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      this was so good! I used coconut milk instead of milk and got loads of flavour in the rice. Loved the spark of the fresh ginger. I used both papaya and carambola (star fruit) to decorate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      We really loved this recipe and the flavors were good, but I think next time I will make it without the addition of the papaya. Maybe I will try substituting mango instead, or just leave it out altogether.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I liked this pudding - it wasn't too sweet like most. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      The one who seldom offers compliments said he liked this -- 5 stars for that. I used coconut milk instead of milk because that'w what I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      We love rice pudding and this one came out really great. Love the combination of flavours.I made it for WT3; thanks for posting. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      What comfort food! I didn't have arborio rice, but the recipe worked fine with regular long grain rice. I used a mango instead of the papaya (couldn't find a papaya in the grocery store). The fresh ginger makes this recipe so unique and flavorful. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      This was really good...but if u would of asked me three hours ago i would of probily given this 4 stars instead of 5 but letting it sit for a couple hours really improved the test.....ITS SOOOO GOOD. I was a little worried when making itbecouse it took a while for the milk to absorb it eventualy did. The one change i made was subsituted the papaya with mango becouse for one i diddnt have papaya and two i hate it haha but it turned out real nice with the mango

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      This was an excellent idea for a rice pudding recipe. Very sticky and satisfying. I used 1/4 cup splenda and 1% milk. Because I don't like raisins cooked I added them with the mango and coconut at the end. My preference is to eat this while it's still warm. At first I thought there was too much coconut in it but my BF said there wasn't enough so I decided it was the right amount! Thanks Beth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      I wish I could give this recipe 4.5 and I would certainly have given it 5 if this weren't a contest recipe! Well done! I haven't had rice pudding for years - loved it as a child, but didn't really care for it as an adult. All the ingredients are well balanced. The only thing is that the raisins are quite strong and although I had a very ripe papaya, the taste of it was quite subtle, as I usually also had a raisin on my spoon. I really loved your rice pudding and the recipe is well written, in particular with the option of the amount of sugar. I went for the 1/4 cup and that was enough for me, but I'm sure that some people like it sweeter. I may give this recipe a try again, but I don't think I would go to the store to buy a papaya. Papayas are expensive here and I think that the recipe would be nice also without it. Good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      Oh Heavenly Days!!! I made this twice, once with plain white rice and the second time with arborio rice. The first time was good...the second time was outstanding! Excellent recipe!!!! Good luck Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I made this dish for my husband, he enjoyed it very much. He gave it a 5* rating because he loved the texture and the flavour created by the fruit, coconut and spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Chef, you are absolutely correct; this is definitely a new twist on an old favourite. However, I must say, your recipe is not far removed from rice puddings served in some Caribbean restaurants, and homes. Lovely flavour, and I thank you for this.. Bravo Chef, Definite full marks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      A wonderful & easy twist on a favorite dessert. I will definitely be making this one again although I may not add the papaya every time. I served this warm with a dollop of whipped cream and sprinkled with toasted coconut. The bit left over was nice the next day chilled too. Good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      I had this recipe printed out before the finalists were revealed but I didn't get around to making it. When the finalists came out and this recipe was on the list, I knew I had to try it for sure. We really enjoyed this and the kids just gobbled it up. My papayas were not very sweet so I used the full 1/2 cup of sugar. Good Luck and congrats on making the finals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      Yummy dessert! Great change from my norm 'sweet rice'. I really enjoyed this! Great recipe! GL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      Ok this is the last recipe I wanted to try from RSC. This is my "dessert" treat for the day. Totally fantastic !!!! Slightly addictive I had a hard time keeping it to a small half of a bowl. Excellant recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      An unexpectedly delicious dish! Just rice pudding, I thought--but I'll give it a try. Wow--a perfect recipe--very simple, taking absolute advantage of each ingredient, resulting in a lovely dish. I used long grain rice and skim milk and the result was super--creamy, a little hit of spice, not overly sweet--just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Island Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.1
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    32%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 56.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes