25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this Island Rice Pudding as an add on side for both a wedding shower & baby shower & people raved. Only difference - I used cocconut creme instead of milk, soaked my raisins in Bacardi's light rum & drained, & added along with papaya fresh pineapple pieces. 2 very smart tricks you did - one, you used Arborio rice (perfect short grain with creamy results - best rice for rissotto also) 2nd the fresh ginger was KEY, nice move!! Enjoyed immensely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cephalacaudal May 30, 2010

I took evelyn/athens tip & substituted coconut milk for the regular milk in this recipe, then pretty much followed the recipe on down, although I did cut it in half, & I used golden raisins! GREAT TASTING RICE PUDDING, what with the nice combo of raisins, coconut & papaya! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for my tagged partner in Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 14]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 27, 2009

FABULOUS~!!! A keeper for sure. After the first 15 minutes, my rice was pretty much cooked. So I just added 1 cup of light coconut milk and let it absorb while I added the rest of the ingredients. Since others had said they didn't care for the papaya, I simply did a sprinkling of papaya on top and it was PERFECT!!! I also subbed Splenda for the sugar and used only 1/4 cup. I can't wait to taste this after it sits for a couple hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 02, 2009

this was so good! I used coconut milk instead of milk and got loads of flavour in the rice. Loved the spark of the fresh ginger. I used both papaya and carambola (star fruit) to decorate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 01, 2009

We really loved this recipe and the flavors were good, but I think next time I will make it without the addition of the papaya. Maybe I will try substituting mango instead, or just leave it out altogether.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen April 03, 2008

I liked this pudding - it wasn't too sweet like most. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogabead March 29, 2008

The one who seldom offers compliments said he liked this -- 5 stars for that. I used coconut milk instead of milk because that'w what I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamarinda August 04, 2007

We love rice pudding and this one came out really great. Love the combination of flavours.I made it for WT3; thanks for posting. Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage June 23, 2007

What comfort food! I didn't have arborio rice, but the recipe worked fine with regular long grain rice. I used a mango instead of the papaya (couldn't find a papaya in the grocery store). The fresh ginger makes this recipe so unique and flavorful. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vtopp April 12, 2006

This was really good...but if u would of asked me three hours ago i would of probily given this 4 stars instead of 5 but letting it sit for a couple hours really improved the test.....ITS SOOOO GOOD. I was a little worried when making itbecouse it took a while for the milk to absorb it eventualy did. The one change i made was subsituted the papaya with mango becouse for one i diddnt have papaya and two i hate it haha but it turned out real nice with the mango

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trulyabaker March 30, 2006
Island Rice Pudding