12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks for the good idea, but I used s/f cheesecake pudding and that seemed to stop the yellow coloring. This is really good so thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Mary February 17, 2011

I've used this tip many times because it WORKS! I've used different puddings for different effects and it's all yummy. The taste using different ones is very subtle and does slightly alter the color of course, but I like having it just a bit different. Sometimes I add amaretto or kahlua to the cream too and it's fantastic. Why buy whipped grease when the real thing is SO easy and tastes SO much better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance September 13, 2013

This was so easy! Tastes good too! I think I have way too much to use up in 3 days though, does anyone know if I can freeze this?? Thanks for the brilliant recipe Heather!

I just wanted to update and say that this is still my go to recipe for whipped cream, for 3 yrs now it's never let me down! I've tried others that either flattened or separated by end of night, not this one, this truly keeps for a few days and tastes great! Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DNA1611 November 23, 2012

Outstanding! I agree with other reviewers--I'll never buy the processed stuff in a tub again. This was delicious on banana cream pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophie1017 March 07, 2011

Worked great, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ChiSox#1 February 16, 2011

I needed to find a whipped cream that I could use as a frosting that could hold a little while out of the refrigerator. I thought the gelatin method seemed too hard so I decided to go with this method. I just did a practice cake (Tres Leches) iced it and did practice piping and it held up pretty good out of the fridge for an hour (even with the milky cake). I'll post the picture of it out for an hour. Considering that the whipped cream and the cake were all milk products, I wouldn't want to keep it out any longer than that but I thought I'd leave it at room temperature just to see if it'll hold up. The flavor is good but it does have a little yellow tint. Just thought I would mention it in case someone is looking for a stark white frosting. Nonetheless, it works for me and tastes good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paagiela July 01, 2010

This is a fast, fantastic & delicious alternative to using gelatin to stabilize whipped cream. It's wonderful for piping decorative borders & designs. Jello Instant Vanilla pudding is now one of my pantry staples!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let Them Eat Cake! May 31, 2010

5 stars all the way!! I used this recipe for Thanksgiving and now have to bring it for all food events. I have to make extra because I can't keep my ds out of it. Awesome recipe! Thanks for posting Heather.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma-lo December 24, 2009

Easy, flavorful and great consistency. Used it with strawberries as filling for a layer cake - yum! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. July 08, 2009

This was a lifesaver and so easy. I made chocolate mousse and topped it with this whipped cream. I will never buy store-bought whipped cream again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ummsami June 05, 2009
Easier Stabilized Whipped Cream