22 Reviews

Barbara, this was grand! I wondered what to do with a few apples that were here! Very tasty and easy....a perfect recipe. More than 5 stars. The instructions were right on the mark...could not have been better.. Thanks from an overstuffed household! I put a few (slightly old) apples in the dessert........and the best on the top! Between the pie filling and the few 'fresh' apples...just the best!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinks May 06, 2002

How many ways can you saw Wow!!! This was easy to make, and even easier to eat! I used a lower-fat cream cheese, and it was sublime. Next time I think I'll try some cherry pie filling and use almonds instead of walnuts. This had a wonderfully cheese-cakey taste, a perfect dessert for our family. Thanks Barbara K, you posted a winner!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj May 28, 2002

This recipe is awesome, and sooooooo easy. Tastes like cheesecake. I used the apple pie filling, with great results. Forgot to mention, I too, baked this in an 8x8 glass dish, did not have a 10x6. It came out just fine, after about 31 min. of baking.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 October 27, 2011

I'm just now getting back into RecipeZaar. I made this awhile back and have included it in my personal cookbook. It is very good and reminds me of an apple cheesecake. Thanks for the recipe. Toni

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado October 25, 2009

Easy and delicious, too. Wanted an apple dessert, but didn't want to peel apples, so this was just perfect. Used a can of "Premium" pie filling that had large slices of apples. Definitely a repeat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PugGrannie October 01, 2009

Thanks for the great recipe. I had too many apples, I used Kittencal's easy sauteed apples and used 1/3 less fat cream cheese since I had that on had. My only other substitution was grape nuts for graham crackers. It worked but I should have sweetened them a bit. The grape nuts were more cohesive (or soggy) by the second day and much improved texture wise. It made for a nice dessert to treat the gals at work with.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Johnsonville September 17, 2008

I brought this to work today and they devoured it! I was asked by at least 3 people for the recipe...here are a few notes that I wanted to let you know: I used an 8 inch square glass dish and it baked for exactly 27 minutes. I did not have regular cream cheese so I used fat free cream cheese instead. I also used about 1/2 cup butter instead of the 1/4 cup because it just didn't seem like the 1/4 cup was enough to make the crust. Excellent, excellent recipe. Next time I make it, I will try it with Blueberry Pie Filling for my hubby! (He loves blueberries!!) Thanks for posting such a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senseicheryl July 11, 2008

I apologize for not reviewing this recipe sooner. I've made it a couple of dozen times and it's always been loved by all. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. My husband liked it, but said next time to use cherry pie filling (his favorite) and to serve it cold. BINGO ! It became his all time favorite dessert. Served cold, it really tastes like a cheesecake - only it's much simpler to make. Try it both ways and decide for yourself - it's an amazing recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KimberlysAunt January 05, 2006

Delicious, easy to make and our dinner guest loved it! Highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks May 22, 2014

I took this to a last minute potluck. Not a crumb was left and it was very easy to prepare.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paula2006 October 25, 2013
Creamy Apple Dessert