11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this recipe for years and it is always a hit! My secret is to use a stick of cold butter and grate it evenly over the top and sprinkle with cinnamon. The butter melts quickly and results in an even brown topping. Also, I like to use a vanilla cake mix.This recipe works well with blueberries also. Fresh is best, but frozen is fine and easy to keep on hand for a quick dessert. Everyone loves this and I hate to tell them how easy it is to make!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Summers December 17, 2007

What a great recipe - not to mention easy. I was skeptical, but it turned out great. I have dinner at my mother-in-law's house every Sunday . . . and I'm in charge of dessert. They'll be seeing this frequently!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmilinJenE September 14, 2003

While this isn't your traditional black berry cobbler, this was delicious! This reminds me of a dump cake with black berries. So good, thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris_tam May 18, 2011

This was so easy and so good! I was looking for something easy to do with the leftover blackberries I picked and this was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajean July 18, 2010

This is so easy. I used fresh blackberries in mine and took it to work. It was a big hit and I had a couple of people asking for the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl July 26, 2008

it isn't a cobbler if you make it with cake mix. i'm sure it is delicious but a blackberry cobbler made any other way other than the old fashion way just isn't a berry cobbler. my mother made wonderful cobblers until she started pouring a batter into them. they were never as good after that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanasharon1 July 24, 2008

I feel so bad giving this a low score - at first I thought maybe I just didn't like it - but not one person in our family of 5, from ages 2 thru 30 liked this. It didn't bake up pretty - at 40 minutes it was still gooey in some areas while the "peaks" were browned. The taste was overwhelmingly STRONG cake mix - not pleasant. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker November 16, 2005

This is great with any fruit...I usually melt the butter first, and drizzle it over the cake mix, but this way sounds like less clean up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panakanic September 20, 2005

How much easier can it get??? And Yummy Yummy Yummy!!! This was delightful,I didn't have to work all day to make it and it was delicious,I was also skeptical,but figured if it got all those good ratings I would try it,sure glad I did!!! Thanks, Darlene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers September 19, 2005

This cobbler was very simple to make and it had a wonderful taste. I used fresh picked blackberries instead of frozen ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBaton July 05, 2005
Commissary Blackberry Cobbler