10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thumbs up in my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anacat January 26, 2013

Wow! These were so simple yet so decadent tasting! I topped each one with a tiny scoop of maple ice cream. I will definitely be making this many times over. (Only I will be skipping the ice cream...in order to make it healthier) Made and reviewed for the Best of 2009 Tag Game. Thanks MarraMamba for posting bluemoon downunder's recipe in your game book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate February 02, 2010

These were fantastic, i will eat them instead of less healthy brownies from now on :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba September 06, 2009

I used regular bananas...not sure what a "sugar banana" is. I used semisweet baking chocolate because that was what I had on hand, shredded it up so it would melt. I used almonds, also because I had those and macadamias are sooo expensive here. The cooking temp was questionable, because it was posted as 180 and 730 degrees C. Recipezaar was unable to convert this, as was I! So I cooked at 350 degrees based on Jessica K's review for 10 minutes....not long enough, my chocolate wasn't melted. So I cooked for another 5 minutes. The chocolate never melted, but the bananas were hot! So I served with ice cream on top after reading HokiesLady's review! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom August 23, 2009

I'm raving about this dish! My DS and I enjoyed this so much!! The bananas were perfectly baked with the chocolate and nuts in 8 minutes! I even was able to use some really ripe bananas for this recipe. My DS said - wouldn't this be great with a scoop of icecream too - so I think next time we are going to try that for fun! I did make a change and used chopped almonds in place of the macadamia nuts (too expensive here right now) and they tasted great! Thanks blue for a great keeper!! Made for the Gimme 5 Tag Game. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom August 15, 2009

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! So easy to make this great tasting & unique dish! What a way to get a great chocolate fix anytime of day of night! Am definitely passing this recipe on to a handful of friends who will love it! Thanks for sharing a keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Gimme 5]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 26, 2009

We thought these were good, they were very simple. I think I may try them again with some walnuts, I only had milk chocolate on hand, I diff would like to try them with the dark chocolate. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle December 18, 2008

Easy & delicious! I'm used to make Banana Boats when I go camping, but I hadn't thought of making something similar at home and using the macadamia nuts is a great touch! I just stuck some dark chocolate Hershey kisses in each and that worked perfectly. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews December 15, 2008

I knew when I saw this I had to make it the same day, as it is so similar to one of the components of my Baked Peanut Butter Banana Split (Light), and I had everything in the house. And it does not disappoint! The flavors go deliciously and richly together - what a combo. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 15, 2008

This was soo good and so easy! I baked at 350 for 10 min and the chocolate was perfectly melted! I used just reg bananas, they don't have the sugar ones here. I also sprinkled some butter schnapps on it before baking. Thanks for a good and easy dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica K November 01, 2005
Chocolate & Macadamia Baked Bananas