13 Reviews

Really a great and easy coffee cake. I used blueberry pie filling as I had a can in the cupboard and it was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 23, 2008

Good coffee cake. Of course we love cherries. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming January 11, 2009

I made these as muffins, and they were great! I followed other reviewers, and added salt, almond extract and almonds (to the topping). The almonds really bring out the cherry flavor. I did not have pie filling, so I used one cup of cherry preserves. I also subbed 1/4 cup of the fat as applesauce, and it worked very well. I baked the muffins at 375 convection for 22 minutes. The recipe yielded 12 large (and yummy) muffins. Love the topping!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 25, 2008

This was a very nice, light cake, with great texture! I love cherries, so I made the recipe as is. I think I might add a wee bit of almond flavoring to the cherries and/or to the batter next time to help bring out the flavor of the cherries. Yum!! This was excellent and so versatile! Made for ZWT4 for the CAFE ZMAAK Gypsies!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annisette July 03, 2008

Gerry this cake is sooo good. We loved it. I made this pretty cake in a spring form pan. This lovely coffee cake was delicious, light, fluffy and buttery, with a nice layer of sour cherries. It is flavorful and has a very nice crumb and texture. Thanks so much for sharing, I'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 28, 2008

This was SO easy and WONDERFUL. Not to sweet and very light !!! My family ate the entire cake in 1 day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skmaner April 07, 2008

Found out after the fact there was no cherry pie filling in the house--raspberry filling makes a great replacement! I like recipes that taste good and have ingredients already on hand. This is one of them--simple, eye-appealing and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers April 01, 2008

*Awesome* coffee cake. I wish I could give this more stars. Ive made this twice in the last week, once in a springform pan that seemed to take a little longer to bake (60 minutes). The second time I made it in a bundt pan that took 50 minutes. I used butter and buttermilk its the buttermilk that makes this cake special. I also added 1/2 tsp almond extract to the batter of this cake. This cake would be very good with any kind of fruit pie filling. Thanks Gerry for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee August 17, 2007

Great Recipe and makes a wonderful cake. I am superpicky when it comes to choice of recipes that I use to bake goods from scratch and if you are like me you won't be disappointed by this one! Made it for my co-workers and it was gone instantly! Very easy to make and makes a great coffee cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AllgoodNTexas April 01, 2006
Cherry Streusel Coffee Cake