Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dessert / Calypso Coffee Cake With Butter Rum Glaze Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Calypso Coffee Cake With Butter Rum Glaze

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2006

      This was good but not what I was expecting. It was definately moist. Next time I think I would use a different type of glaze for it (a thicker one). When I poured it over the cake it made it a little soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      We really enjoyed this cake. I used banana because that is what I had on hand. The strussel center made a nice difference. Thank you for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      Bunny Mom, I've heard so much praise about your coffee cake that I tried it yesterday for the birthday party of my flatmate's girlfriend, which was held in our flat. There were people from lots of different nations including India, the Netherlands, Italy, the Caribbean, England, Scotland, Luxembourg and of course Switzerland invited, and everybody loved it! The taste of the cake is 5 stars for sure - and as everybody else I loved the streusel and the rum glaze, well done! The reason why I rate this recipe 4 stars and not 5 is that I wouldn't bother buying plantains for this cake if I made it again. I would use bananas instead, as they are cheaper (well at least in Switzerland), have more flavour and there's no need to cook them. Thanks for developing this lovely cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      Great cake! This cake is so moist and melts in your mouth. After 35 minutes the top began to brown and separate, I checked it and it was ready to come out of the oven. The plantains did not really give it much flavor but loved the butter rum glaze. I am going to make this again without boiling the plantains first. Wonderful submission! Good luck Chef!!! -- posted Mar 4, 2006 UPDATE: I need to update this review because the next day, after all the flavors melded... I could taste the plantains, the texture was still perfect, and the rum glaze was divine! I guess it just had to age to perfection! Great Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      This was good, we like coffee cake and this was good. I really like the glaze that this makes!!! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      Man, oh Man, oh Man.... Bakery Quality, I kid you not. Dynamic flavour. It is recipes such as this that makes me wish my mother were still with me... She loved good coffee cake.... and I am my mother's daughter. I had recently purchased an additional bundt pan because of its quality and design. Your Calypso Coffee Cake looked gorgeous when removed from the pan. As the women in "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" said, "It's a Bundt"! It certainly is. Glazed with your Butter Rum and topped with confectioner's sugar, it boasted a most impressive presentation. A printed copy of your recipe will be included with the Cake when offered in our annual fund raising, bake sale, silent auction. Thank you Chef, for putting your talents to such good use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      My Heavens! What a great cake! A moist, cake with a wonderful streusel filling! Add the glaze.it's delightful! Loved the coconut, rum, lime,plantains and spices! Will definitely make this many times over! Thank you for an outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      This should get more than five stars. What a great cake! The cake part is not over-whelmingly banana/plantain flavored but a very smooth and moist. The streusel is perfect--a little texture from the coconut, a little sweetness. The glaze provides a lovely bit of caramel-like sweetness (tho I cut down on the lime juice a bit). Absolutely a terrific cake--and the five people who ate it all agreed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      This is an excellent cake. Texture and taste is Wow! A good job!I would save prep time and put peeled sliced plantains in the microwave with a small amount of water and microwave vent cover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      This cake has a nice texture, and I really enjoyed the streusel layer inside the cake with the rum glaze soaked into the cake on top. It makes a great presentation, and the directions were excellent. The only thing I would do differently next time is to replace the lime juice in the glaze with vanilla. I could really taste the lime tartness, which for my taste didn't work well with the rest of the flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      This recipe was very tasty - but on the dry side. I think some addition of vegetable oil to the batter (or some other form of liquid) might make a more moist cake. I noticed even the batter was very thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      This was my first experience with using plantains. This is such a creative use of the contest ingredients. I wasn't sure how tender the plantains were supposed to be and I may have overcooked them as they were quite stiff after I mashed them and made the cake batter clumpy. I loved the streusal addition and the cake itself had a great presentation. If I were to make this again, I would try using bananas instead. Good Luck in the contest :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      What a wonderful recipe - and my first 5-star of the contest. I loved everything about the recipe. The ingredients worked well together, the instructions were spot-on, baking time was exactly 55 minutes and I nearly died waiting for the cake to cool down! Finally, I cut it while still slightly warm and loved each and every bite!!! The plantain comes through, nicely-spiced, streusel yummy, and butter rum glaze is out of this world! The only thing I will do differently is omit the lime from the glaze and add a little more rum. I will make this again over and over. I really hope this recipe wins. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Calypso Coffee Cake With Butter Rum Glaze

    Serving Size: 1 (117 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.8
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    45%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 89.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 457.7 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 26.9 g
    107%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites