16 Reviews

I keep going back and sneaking more bites of this yummy dessert. I'm not diabetic but love desserts that are not overly sweet, and have good nutritious ingredients. This one fits that bill exactly. My berries were frozen ones, as I prefer those for baking purposes. I realized when I was in the middle of making this that I didn't have old-fashioned oats, so I used quick oats and reduced the cook time to 30 minutes, which was perfect. Neither of my kids cared for it, but I find it just right.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl June 16, 2012

I'm giving this 5 stars because the taste was delicious, but I used 2 cups of frozen organic blueberries and when I put them in a 9x9 pan there wasn't enough to spread out. Fortunately I had some fresh blueberries on hand so I made a second batch using the fresh blueberries which at least covered the bottom of the pan. This is a very good dessert, but not very "crisp" like.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLakins February 02, 2010

This was a wonderful use of frozen blueberries. I liked that it wasn't overly sweet and let the fruit be the star. Next time though I will use a smaller pan. This time I used a 8x8 glass pan. I think a thicker layer wouldn't be so dry. I'll definitely make again though. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D January 10, 2015

So simple and so good. What a great way to get some nutritious fruit into your diet in a way that feels like it should be bad for you but it isn't! I did use frozen fruit, and did 1/2 blueberries and 1/2 blackberries. I really loved the mix of flavors. I also didn't defrost them. I always leave fruit frozen when baking with frozen berries. It doesn't cook away as much and I'm sure it just takes less than a minute in the oven to get them fully defrosted. I also used a loaf pan, which was the perfect size for the topping so I didn't double it like some of the other reviewers did. Yum...I'm saving this recipe and pinning it so I don't forget about it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 December 05, 2014

A great healthy dessert! I did heeded the advice of other reviews that stated 2 cups of frozen blueberries was not enough so I used 3 big cups but kept the flour and sugar, perfect and will do the same way again. Our guest loved it served with Egg Nog Ice Cream. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl December 02, 2014

I like this because it is not overly sweet- and with a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt, absolutely perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau July 03, 2014

Making this now but just noticed the nutritional values are wrong. It says zero grams fat in it but butter has fat. From what i figure 1/6 of this recipe has 3.84 grams of fat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pleasemama July 07, 2013

What a great recipe! I separated into 4 ramekins and baked for 30 minutes at 400 - they were a bit try so I'd lower the temp next time. Used frozen blueberries this time around, next time I would add a few raspberries. Topped with whip cream of course.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI May 05, 2013

This was fresh and light, a nice summer dessert. Mine did not have a traditional crisp top, that you can cut through, it was more of a toasted oatmeal sprinkle. Still very delicious, but different than your usual fruit crisp. Will make again, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 August 08, 2009

I tripled the recipe and used wild blueberries, plus a squeeze of lemon. Because it wasn't for diabetics, I added a bit more sugar but actually think it would be better with exactly the amount of sugar called for as it was just a little too sweet. Everyone had second helpings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny August 08, 2009
Blueberry Crisp (Diabetic)