1206 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

yum yum! this recipe is delicious. I've made this recipe twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out great! The second time I made cupcakes (baked at 275 for 35 minutes) instead of a cake. I also cut the sugar back to 1 and 3/4 cups and they were plenty sweet enough. I didn't put them in the freezer the second time and they still turned out super moist. This is definitely a keeper!
Sept. 24, 2011 - I've made this cake several times and every time its turned out great. Today I tried substituting pumpkin puree for the banana and added some cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg and it turned out fantastic! This is such a versatile cake. You won't be disappointed!

72 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danica.crystal September 25, 2011

To say this is the "Best Ever Banana Cake" would be an enormous understatement! This cake was FAN-TABULOUS!!! It took me back to my childhood, when we would get the little square banana cakes from the local deli. I made very slight changes. I substituted Splenda for the Sugar in the cake and for the icing, I used 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and 1 1/2 cups Splenda and it was soooo smooth and tasty. I also didn't have buttermilk, so I added about 2 teaspoons of white distilled vinegar to whole milk. The recipe makes a lot of batter so I made two 9x9 square pans of the cake. I brought one into work - it was gone in the matter of seconds! Thanks for the recipe that will most definitly remain in my top 5 cake recipe box!

48 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Good Tastin' Stuff January 25, 2010

wonderful!!! only thing i did different was bake it at 375 for about an hour. the first time i baked it for over an hour and it was really wet, even after a clean toothpick. the second time when i adjusted the temp it worked great. so good!!!

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellielikestocook August 01, 2010

This was a fabulous cake..... REALLY FABULOUS!!! It is no wonder it has been made and reviewed so many times! Its name is accurate! I followed the recipe for the cake to the letter using 4 bananas - the recipe is well written and easy to follow. It took 1 hr. 10 minutes in my oven to be perfectly done. I did cut back a bit on the frosting, using only 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 package of cream cheese, 3 cups sugar and a few tablespoons of milk to mix. I did not use the freezer trick because it was late when I took it out of the oven and I just went to bed and frosted it the following morning. It was still super moist. I'm looking forward to making this cake again very soon....it is delicious.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Supper Lady January 20, 2010

I've tried several recipes and this is by far the best. In my oven, it takes anywhere from 1 hour 20 min, to 1 1/2 hour. I sometimes get impatient and increase the temp to 300degrees and bake for 1 hour to get the same results. I've done the freezer trick or, I'll also place a layer of plastic wrap directly on the cake itself, once it has cooled a bit. This makes it extra moist as well. They make great cupcakes too at 325 for 17-20 minutes. Love it!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shmelly June 21, 2010

So good! I just made this with some ripe bananas I didn't want to waste. Actually, I made two batches. The first batch I split the batter between two 9 inch round disposable tins and one mini loaf pan (I plan on sharing so I didn't want to use real pans). The batter came up about 3/4 of the way on the side of the pan- BAD idea, they overflowed!! Good thing I had put everything on a large cookie sheet for stability and it caught most of the overflow. The second batch (after I ran to the store for more sugar and tins), I used 3, disposable 8" square pans, which were filled about halfway with batter. That was perfect! The first batch took about 1 1/2 hours, the second 1 hour and 20 minutes. I did put them in the freezer once they were done baking and used this cream cheese frosting recipe- delish! Thanks for the excellent recipe, I will use it again for sure!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WithoutContext July 27, 2010

Really delicious, but it was a little sweet for me. I might cut out some of the sugar next time, especially if I'm using bananas that were as ripe as these again. Also, I substituted about half of the butter with the same amount of banana to make it a tiny bit healthier and to give it an even more banana-y flavor.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skb289 May 31, 2010

Delicious cake and a hit with all! The first time I made it, I forgot about the freezer part, but it turned out great! For comparison, I did the freezer step the second time and I didn't really notice a significant difference (except that it takes longer until it can be enjoyed!). I'll probably skip that step in the future - I like the cake on the warm side anyway. Oh, and time - mine took about an hour and 20 minutes.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Love Figs! May 11, 2010

My Mum made this cake a couple of times and I simply love it. The best banana cake I have ever tasted! I decided to make it myself, but as cupcakes and they are to die for. I used the same recipe except for the cake I only used 1 1/8 cups of sugar and only 1/2 to 3/4 cups of cream cheese for the frosting (my Mum makes the cake the same way). Cooking time was shortened to about 30-45 minutes at 275 degrees. I used 1/3 cup of batter for each cupcake (regular sized muffin tray) or 1/2 cup for the larger muffin/cupcake trays. I added one banana chip to each cupcake, upright to give it some flair. Enjoy!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizvang September 03, 2011

I made this for a football party recently and the crowd went wild! I made it into a three-layer cake (versus 13 X 9) and two batches of frosting - coated the outside with chopped pecans and it was gone before I knew it. Thanks for sharing sucha great receipe!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Fitz105 January 26, 2010
Best Ever Banana Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting