Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Dessert / Best Ever Banana Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Best Ever Banana Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting

    Average Rating:

    1,168 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 1,168

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2011

      yum yum! this recipe is delicious. I've made this recipe twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out great! The second time I made cupcakes (baked at 275 for 35 minutes) instead of a cake. I also cut the sugar back to 1 and 3/4 cups and they were plenty sweet enough. I didn't put them in the freezer the second time and they still turned out super moist. This is definitely a keeper!
      Sept. 24, 2011 - I've made this cake several times and every time its turned out great. Today I tried substituting pumpkin puree for the banana and added some cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg and it turned out fantastic! This is such a versatile cake. You won't be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      To say this is the "Best Ever Banana Cake" would be an enormous understatement! This cake was FAN-TABULOUS!!! It took me back to my childhood, when we would get the little square banana cakes from the local deli. I made very slight changes. I substituted Splenda for the Sugar in the cake and for the icing, I used 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and 1 1/2 cups Splenda and it was soooo smooth and tasty. I also didn't have buttermilk, so I added about 2 teaspoons of white distilled vinegar to whole milk. The recipe makes a lot of batter so I made two 9x9 square pans of the cake. I brought one into work - it was gone in the matter of seconds! Thanks for the recipe that will most definitly remain in my top 5 cake recipe box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      wonderful!!! only thing i did different was bake it at 375 for about an hour. the first time i baked it for over an hour and it was really wet, even after a clean toothpick. the second time when i adjusted the temp it worked great. so good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      This was a fabulous cake..... REALLY FABULOUS!!! It is no wonder it has been made and reviewed so many times! Its name is accurate! I followed the recipe for the cake to the letter using 4 bananas - the recipe is well written and easy to follow. It took 1 hr. 10 minutes in my oven to be perfectly done. I did cut back a bit on the frosting, using only 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 package of cream cheese, 3 cups sugar and a few tablespoons of milk to mix. I did not use the freezer trick because it was late when I took it out of the oven and I just went to bed and frosted it the following morning. It was still super moist. I'm looking forward to making this cake again very soon....it is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I've tried several recipes and this is by far the best. In my oven, it takes anywhere from 1 hour 20 min, to 1 1/2 hour. I sometimes get impatient and increase the temp to 300degrees and bake for 1 hour to get the same results. I've done the freezer trick or, I'll also place a layer of plastic wrap directly on the cake itself, once it has cooled a bit. This makes it extra moist as well. They make great cupcakes too at 325 for 17-20 minutes. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      So good! I just made this with some ripe bananas I didn't want to waste. Actually, I made two batches. The first batch I split the batter between two 9 inch round disposable tins and one mini loaf pan (I plan on sharing so I didn't want to use real pans). The batter came up about 3/4 of the way on the side of the pan- BAD idea, they overflowed!! Good thing I had put everything on a large cookie sheet for stability and it caught most of the overflow. The second batch (after I ran to the store for more sugar and tins), I used 3, disposable 8" square pans, which were filled about halfway with batter. That was perfect! The first batch took about 1 1/2 hours, the second 1 hour and 20 minutes. I did put them in the freezer once they were done baking and used this cream cheese frosting recipe- delish! Thanks for the excellent recipe, I will use it again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Really delicious, but it was a little sweet for me. I might cut out some of the sugar next time, especially if I'm using bananas that were as ripe as these again. Also, I substituted about half of the butter with the same amount of banana to make it a tiny bit healthier and to give it an even more banana-y flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      My Mum made this cake a couple of times and I simply love it. The best banana cake I have ever tasted! I decided to make it myself, but as cupcakes and they are to die for. I used the same recipe except for the cake I only used 1 1/8 cups of sugar and only 1/2 to 3/4 cups of cream cheese for the frosting (my Mum makes the cake the same way). Cooking time was shortened to about 30-45 minutes at 275 degrees. I used 1/3 cup of batter for each cupcake (regular sized muffin tray) or 1/2 cup for the larger muffin/cupcake trays. I added one banana chip to each cupcake, upright to give it some flair. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Delicious cake and a hit with all! The first time I made it, I forgot about the freezer part, but it turned out great! For comparison, I did the freezer step the second time and I didn't really notice a significant difference (except that it takes longer until it can be enjoyed!). I'll probably skip that step in the future - I like the cake on the warm side anyway. Oh, and time - mine took about an hour and 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I made this for a football party recently and the crowd went wild! I made it into a three-layer cake (versus 13 X 9) and two batches of frosting - coated the outside with chopped pecans and it was gone before I knew it. Thanks for sharing sucha great receipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      So yummy my whole family fought over it! I did modify a little . I only used 1 cup sugar and used sour cream instead of butter milk and I added 1/2 tsp more of baking soda because a few rating said it was to dense ,I used half butter half virgin coconut oil to then I used only 2 cups of sugar in the icing. I loved it and so did everyone at my Christmas party . Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      This is THE BEST cake I have made! It is so good, I want to stand on the corner and give away samples! ( I AM a bit proud!) Instead of 9 x 13, I made two layers and I did use the freezer step. Incredibly moist. Thank you ever so much for sharing this tremendous cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      This is a wonderful cake with a lot of resiliance in the baking! I found that the time was not enough - although I baked in a bundt pan, so perhaps that's the reason. I confess to not checking the readiness, but it looked nice and golden on top. I froze it a bit and turned it out of the pan and lo and behold, it was not cooked enough! I ended up having to cook it up a few more minutes in the microwave!!! and it still turned out moist and delicious. Since I was baking with my 4 year old, we opted to put chocolate chips in it and use chocolate frosting. I thought this would be too much, but I have to say that I actually think it may be a better combo than the cream cheese! The sweetness of the cake was wonderfully counterbalanced with the chocolate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      I love this cake, especially kept in the refrigerator. Unfortunately, every time I make it I gain a couple of pounds because I eat almost the whole thing myself, but it's worth it every once in awhile! Thanks so much for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      I've been wanting to try this recipe for a while now and I finally made it this afternoon. I had to bake it about and hour and a half for the middle to get done. It is so moist and yummy! I think I'll half the icing the next time because it almost overpowers the cake with sweetness. This is THE banana cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This is, without a doubt, the best banana cake I've made. The only change I made the second time around was to cut back on the sugar by 1/8 cup in the cake. And... I use ALL of the frosting...makes it so decadent and delicious. Everyone loves it. It took about an hour and a half to bake, but was well worth it. I also used the same recipe with blueberries instead of bananas (used 2 cups of frozen berries), and everyone loved it as well. Next, I'm going to try pineapple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      This is more work than a newborn baby, but boy is it worth it! I made it exactly according to the directions; however, it took close to 2 hrs. in my oven. Don't freak out if the time isn't right. Just keep checking it. This really is the moistest, tastiest banana cake I've ever had; and since it's my favorite, I've tried a LOT. This is my new official banana cake recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I just reduced the sugar to 1 1/8 cups and it was the right amount of sweetness for me .I also reduced the sugar in the icing by quite a bit and used vanilla bean soaked in milk instead of the extract.Other than that,everything else is great.Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I had one Huge problem though. I tried putting it in a 9x13 and the batter spilled over and made a huge, burnt mess. I ended up having to scoop the center out and put in mini loaf pans. I was so frustrated by the time it was cooked and my oven clean I didn't make the frosting. We just ate it as bread. Next time I am going to put in 9" cake pans and do a layered cake. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Wonderful! I was never a big fan of banana cake in the past but this totally won me over when I made it as part of a staff's birthday request. She said it was the best one she ever had and that banana cake has always been her favorite. Will certianly make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 59

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Best Ever Banana Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 503.4
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    36%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 89.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 365.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.7 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 55.6 g
    222%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites